Weather Forecast


Kelliher inducts members into NHS and NJHS

Four students were inducted into the National Honor Society and three students were inducted into the National Junior Honor Society at Kelliher Public School March 9.

Leah Gruber, junior; Kristi Geerdes, Caitlyn Duresky, and Deborah Mayers, sophomores became the new members for NHS. The new inductees were Kayla Vollhaber, Lisa Mayers, Brittany Hand and Tanner Schuh.

The new NJHS members are Katey Lutz, Maranda Pula, eighthgrade and Mark Geerdes, seventh grade. They join Megan Poxleitner, Alisha Gehlert, Danielle Nistler, Johanna Weidenborner and Cassie Vollhaber.

The induction ceremony was held March 9 at the Kelliher School with middle and high school students, parents and grandparents in attendance. Melissa Leno (Long) of Superior, Wis. was the guest speaker and also a former NHS member from Kelliher.

This honor, recognized throughout the nation, is the public recognition of accomplishment and a private commitment to continue excellence on the part of the members. Therefore, much care is given to the guidelines that go with the selection process. Selection to the NHS and NJHS is a privilege, not a right. Students are not applying for this membership; rather they provide information to a faculty council to determine if standards (set at national and local levels) have been met.

There are five areas that students are assessed in to be considered for candidacy: academics, leadership, service, character and citizenship.

Students must first pass the academics with a grade point average of 3.2 or higher to be considered for candidacy. Eligible candidates then fill out an activity form and are given a numerical rating by their teachers in the areas of leadership, service, and character. The Faculty Council meets to review information gathered and vote. Students win with a majority vote. The students are responsible for doing service projects throughout the year.