Weather Forecast


Beltrami, Polk and Marshall counties to receive Disaster Unemployment Assistance

St. Paul - Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is available to eligible workers and self-employed residents of Beltrami, Polk and Marshall counties, the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development announced today.

DUA is for individuals and business owners who were unemployed after March 22, 2009 as a result of the flood. The deadline for applying for assistance is Tuesday, June 9.

In addition, residents of Clay, Norman , Traverse and Wilkin counties were declared eligible for DUA in April. Their deadline for applying for assistance is Friday, May 15, 2009.

The first step is to file for regular Unemployment Insurance at If it is determined that a worker or self-employed individual is not eligible for UI, the DUA program pays benefits to those whose work has been lost or interrupted as a direct result of a disaster.

An online application for DUA can be completed through the Web site. DUA applications can also be completed over the phone by calling the UI Customer Service toll free number at 1-877-898-9090, TTY 1-866-814-1252.

Paper applications for DUA will be available at the Moorhead, Crookston and Bemidji WorkForce Centers and State Disaster Recovery Centers located in the affected counties.

Bemidji WorkForce Center, 616 America Avenue NW, Suite 210, Bemidji, phone 218-333-8200.