Weather Forecast


Funding for government lapses as short-term spending bill stalls in the Senate

DNR adds more counties to burning restriction list

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources is adding more counties to the list of those designated for burning restrictions.

Beginning April 20, restrictions will go into effect in the following 13 counties: Aitkin, Becker, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Mahnomen, Ottertail, Polk (that portion south and east of County Road 6 from the Manhomen County line to MN Hwy. 92 east to the Clearwater County line), St Louis (that portion south of county road 16) and all of Wadena County.

These restrictions are put in place each spring to reduce the occurrence of wildfires, which can damage homes and other personal property.

Special permits will only be written for extenuating circumstances such as time sensitive construction projects and prescribed burning conducted by professional firefighters. The DNR encourages the use of composting, recycling and chipping as alternatives to burning.

While debris burning will be curtailed, the use of campfires, if smaller than 3 feet in diameter and 3 feet in height, will continue to be allowed. Permits are not required for this type of fire if it meets the above conditions and is monitored until coals have cooled.