Weather Forecast


Bemidji School Board elects Steve Johnson 2009 chairperson

The Bemidji School Board has elected board member Carol L. Johnson as its chairperson for 2009.

The board voted 5-0 to approve Johnson as the chairperson Monday night. Board member Steven Johnson was absent from the meeting.

The board also voted 5-0 to elect board member Gene Dillon as the vice chairperson, board member Bill Faver as the clerk and Chris Leinen, the district's director of business services, as the treasurer.

Also Monday night, the board voted 5-0 to keep the board member and chairperson compensation the same as the previous year - $450 per month for each board member and an additional $600 for the year for the chairperson.

The board also voted 5-0 to keep its regular meeting time, day and place the same as the previous year - 6:30 p.m. on the third Monday of each month in the Bemidji High School Media Center.