Weather Forecast


Bemidji City Council action

Among notable action taken at the Bemidji City Council meeting Monday:

MnDOT resolution

The City Council considered an agreement with the Minnesota Department of Transportation for the upcoming reconstruction of Bemidji Avenue/Highway 197. The agreement outlines the city's costs for the project (about $1.5 million) and details a detour agreement, in which MnDOT will pay the city about $10,700 for the use of city streets for a detour. The project is scheduled for next summer.

ACTION: The council voted unanimously to approve.

2008 fee schedule

The City Council considered adoption of the 2008 fee schedule.

ACTION: The council voted 5-2 to approve. Councilors Nancy Erickson and Onen Markeson voted against.

Building Code amendment

The City Council held the second reading of an ordinance that amends part of the city's building code, which includes adopting for the 2006 International Building Code (was 2000), adoption of the 2006 International Residential Code (was 2000), and adoption of the 2005 National Electrical Code (was 2000).

ACTION: No action required.

Parks and Trails Commission

The City Council held the second reading and public hearing on an ordinance that limits membership of the Parks and Trails Commission to city residents.

ACTION: No action required.

Erosion and sedimentation

The City Council held the first reading of an ordinance amending relating to erosion and sedimentation control. The ordinance requires any activity that disturbs the land to submit an erosion control plan. All plans will need to be approved by the city engineer's office prior to any grading activities taking place.

ACTION: No action required.

Events center update

Cliff Tweedale, the executive director of the Headwaters Regional Development Commission, gave his monthly update on events center plans. He said a revised site plan and possible value-engineering options will be presented to the council during its Monday work session.

ACTION: No action required.

Present: Richard Lehmann, mayor; Onen Markeson, Ward 1; Roger Hellquist, Ward 2; Ron Johnson; Ward 3; Jerry Downs, Ward 4; Nancy Erickson, Ward 5; Barb Meuers; at-large.

For more information on City Council actions, call the city clerk's office at 759-3570.