Weather Forecast


BSU hosts annual Beaver Relays

The annual running of the Beaver Relays, now in its seventh decade, will be held today at the BSU track starting at 1 p. m.

Once the featured meet of the area track season, the event has shrunk steadily in the past decade.

Only 10 teams will be on hand today, one a JV team, with only Hibbing a major school.

The Bluejackets will be joined by United North Central (Sebeka-Menahga), Clearbrook-Gonvick, Park Rapids, Roseau, Kelliher-Northome-Blackduck, WHA, Pequot Lakes, RLCC and the Detroit Lakes JV. Park Rapids and Hibbing would seem to be the top threats with Roseau also in the picture.

Action will open at 1 with the girls high jump shot and pole vault and the boys long jump, pole vault and discus.

Track events start at 1:30 with the boys and girls 4 x 8 relays.

The meet includes the full slate of events with the 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600 and 3200 meter runs, 110 (100) and 300 meter hurdles and 4 x 1, 4 x 2, 4 x 4 and 4 x 8 relays.

The field events list the high, long and triple jumps, pole vault, shot put and discus.

Because of poor field conditions, the high jump and pole vault will be held at the Gillett Rec Center track. All others will go at Chet Anderson Stadium.

Outstanding Performer Awards will be given in both boys and girls divisions with trophies to the winning teams.

Thief River Falls won both titles last year but will not be back to defend its titles.

Bemidji will run at the Moorhead Invitational today, one of many meets conflicting with the Beaver Relays.

Relays History

The Beaver Relays were begun after World War II in the late 40's and became northern Minnesota's premier high school event for 20 years.

With the coming of all weather tracks in the late 60's, the meet began losing entries with the ancient BSU cinder oval no longer an attraction.

Run for 33 years in three divisions, the meet saw no Class A division in 1976 and no Class C meet in 1977, its final year.

It remained dormant until 1986 when current Beaver track Coach Craig Hougen revived the event as a single class meet, run at that time on the new BHS track.

After two years, lack of teams caused it be to discontinued again for three years until revived on the new Beaver track in 1991 and has been held annually since.

Since the revival, Bemidji has won four girls titles, all in the past seven years and boys crowns in 1986, 87, 94, 2002 and 04.

Grand Rapids has taken four girls titles, Crookston has won two and Alexandria and Hibbing show two boys titles.

More large schools have returned to the meet the past few years.


Past Champions

Single Division

Year Boys Girls

1986 Bemidji Cass Lake

1987 Bemidji Bemidji J. V.

1991 Cbk-Gonvick Crosby-Ironton

1992 Crookston Crookston

1993 Moorhead Crookston

1994 Bemidji Bemidji

1995 Hibbing Bemidji

1996 Park Rapids Hibbing

1997 Hibbing Bemidji

1998 Alexandria Bemidji

1999 Alexandria Grand Rapids

2000 Brainerd Grand Rapids

2001 Brainerd Grand Rapids

2002 Bemidji Grand Rapids

2003 Cancelled Cancelled

2004 Bemidji Hibbing

2005 Bemidji Bemidji

2006 Thief River Thief River