Weather Forecast


Little Amik track meet draws 14 teams

The second of the four BSU indoor track meets, the 17th annual Little Amik-I will take place today staring at 1 p. m.

It has drawn 14 entrants, all of them C lass A teams.

The Little Amik was one of the two original meets, designed for the small schools of the area while the Lions was designated for the larger schools.

For the most part it has continued to run in that format though Hibbing came and swept both titles in 1997.

International Falls will be defending both crowns, winning each division for the third time last season.

With the growing interest in the indoor season, the Paul Bunyan was added in 1996 to the major school meets and the Little Amik-II in 2002 for the smaller schools.

The latter move was taken when the Little Amik-I grew to 25 or more schools in hopes of having more manageable field for each. While some schools still come to both, many choose one or the other.

Joining the Broncos today will be Park Rapids, Nashwauk-Keewatin, Pequot Lakes, Roseau, Clearbrook/Gonvick, Crosby-Ironton, Cass Lake, Deer River, New York Mills, East Grand Forks, Bagley/Fosston, Nevis and the Bemidji JV.

Bemidji coaches John Deden and Chris Lehman use this meet to give their athletes who did not run at the Lions an opportunity to showcase their talents

In some instances, any of their top athletes who missed the Lions meet may also be used. The girls JV won the team title in 2004.

Park Rapids leads the list of boys' winners, taking four crowns. It also has won three girls' championships as have Crookston and I. Falls.

Deden will open with Dan Sorby and Grant Stevens in then hurdles. Leif Rantala, Klay Leister, Max Roszkowski and Chris Graefe will run the 55 with Abe Cummings, Rantala and Grant Jensen in the 200 and Nic Wagner, Cory Juaire, Kyle Batchelder and Cummings in the 400.

the 800 lists Matt Claypool, Andrew Lund and Jake Brown with Lund, Nate Schreiber and Chris and Dustin Bowman in the 1600 and Jared Davis, Chris Gustafson, Eric Truedson and Brown in the 3200.

The relays match Wagner, Roszkowski, Graefe and Leister as one 4 x 2 unit with Cummings, Juaire, Jensen and Rantala as another.

The 4 x 8 matches Davis, Claypool, Chris Gustafson and Lund. No 4 x 4 team was listed.

In the field, Davis will high jump, Wagner, Juaire, Roszkowski and Rantala will long jump with Alex Muller and Tristan Dockendorf in the pole vault.

Andrew Cable, Corey Allen, Bjorn Eide, Justin Henry, Jensen, Byron Downwind and Marcus Wax are the shot putters. No triple jumpers were listed.


Boys Division

1990 Clearbrook-Gonvick

1991 Mahnomen

1992 Marshall County South

1993 Park Rapids

1994 International Falls

1995 International Falls

1996 Park Rapids

1997 Hibbing

1998 Staples-Motley

1999 Park Rapids

2000 Park Rapids

2001 Warroad

2002 Warroad

2003 DGF

2004 Mora

2005 International Falls

Girls Division

1990 Frazee

1991 Beausejour, Man.

1992 Frazee

1993 Park Rapids

1994 Park Rapids

1995 Park Rapids

1996 International Falls

1997 Hibbing

1998 Crookston

1999 Crookston

2000 Bagley/Fosston

2001 Wadena/Deer Creek

2002 Crookston

2003 International Falls

2004 Bemidji JV

2005 International Falls