Weather Forecast


Sculpture Walk winners announced

A happy group of artists pose in front of a newly installed sculpture during the 2012 Bemidji Sculpture Walk awards ceremony. Albert Belleveau, installation chair, is standing next to People's Choice Winner, Shanna Mae Olson a May BSU Fine Arts graduate. Mitch Blessing, chair of the Bemidji Sculpture Walk is standing next to Critic's Choice winner, Steve Sundahl, a BSU fine arts professor. Missing from the photo is runner-up for Critic's Choice Michael Vallarano from Minneapolis. PATT RALL | BEMIDJI PIONEER

BEMIDJI -- The winners for this year's Bemidji Sculpture Walk contest were announced Saturday.

Weathered by Shanna Mae Olson received the $1,000 People's Choice Award and "H2O Water Dancers" by Steve Sundahl won the $500 Critic's Choice Award. First Runner up and $250 prize winner was Minneapolis sculptor Michael Vallarano for his Magnolias form the Mezazoic.

The sculptures were among the 19 up for the three awards in 2012. The public was able to cast votes for the People's Choice Award through 5 p.m. Friday.

The newly instralled artwork is now on display in downtown Bemidji.