Weather Forecast


Wald, Runing rinks earn trips to junior nationals

sports Bemidji,Minnesota 56619
Bemidji Pioneer
(218) 333-9819 customer support
Wald, Runing rinks earn trips to junior nationals
Bemidji Minnesota P.O. Box 455 56619

Josh Bahr will represent Bemidji at the men's U.S. Junior National Curling Championships Jan. 29-Feb. 5 in Fairbanks, Alaska.

Serving as vice-skip, Bahr helped the Aaron Wald rink capture the championship of the Minnesota junior curling regional this weekend at the Bemidji Curling Club.

Wald finished the nine-team round-robin with a 7-1 record and won the state title without a playoff.

Finishing the round-robin with 6-2 records were the Trevor Andrews rink of Bemidji and the Tyler Runing rink of Mankato. Those teams met in a tie-breaking match Sunday evening and Runing won 10-6 to claim the tournament's runner-up spot and its reward, a berth in the national tourney.

The Andrews rink included Trevor Andrews, Nick Wagner and Mark Fenner of Bemidji.

The William Howieson rink of Mapleton finished fourth with a 4-4 record. Ending with 3-4 marks were Tanner Blagoue of Hibbing and Tony Wright of Duluth.

The Eric Johannsen rink, which included Bemidji curlers Eric Johannsen, Micah Johnson, Joel Johannsen and Brian Oakes, was 3-5 while Tayler Ausen of St. Paul was 2-6 and Noah Fiskness of Duluth went 1-7.

In the junior girls tournament Miranda Solem of Grand Rapids ended 6-1 to capture the title and Cory Christensen of Duluth was second at 5-2. Both teams will compete at nationals.

Rachel Humeniuk of Bemidji skipped the third-place team which ended 2-6 and finishing 0-6 was Courtney Osbakken of Duluth.

Minnesota Junior Curling Regional

Men's Division

Final Standings

Wald 7-1**, Runing 6-2*, Andrews 6-2, Howieson 4-4, Blagoue 3-4, Wright 3-4, Johannsen 3-5, Ausen 2-6, Fiskness 1-7

**-Minnesota champion

*-Runnerup and national qualifier

Saturday's Late Results

Howieson 12, Blagoue 3; Andrews 9, Wright 7; Runing 9, Wald 6; Johannsen 10, Fiskness 8

Sunday's Results

Runing 9, Wright 6; Andrews 7, Howieson 1; Wald 11, Fiskness 1; Blagoue 9, Ausen 6; Runing def. Johannsen; Wald def. Andrews; Howieson def. Ausen

Sunday's Runnerup Tiebreaker

Runing 10, Andrews 6

Women's Division

Final Standings

Solem 6-1**, Christensen 5-2*, Humeniuk 2-4, Osbakken 0-6

Saturday's Late Results

Humeniuk 12, Osbakken 6; Solem 12, Christensen 2

Sunday's Tiebreaker

Solem 12, Christensen 2

**-Minnesota champion

*-Runnerup and national qualifier

Pat Miller

Pat Miller is the sports editor at the Pioneer.

(218) 333-9200