Weather Forecast


Federal Dam man missing after capsized canoe found on Leech Lake

Tatro named Bemidji High School boys hockey MVP

BEMIDJI - Tyler Tatro was named the Most Valuable Player of the Bemidji High School boys hockey team at the squad's annual post-season banquet.

Tatro, who was named to the Minnesota Associated Press honorable mention All-State team, also was voted Bemidji's top defenseman while Jordan Heller and John Forseth shared the top forward award, Brett Isensee was named the team's most improved player and Easton Halbert won the team's Hobey Baker award.

Forseth, Heller, Dillon Eichstadt and Tatro also were honored for serving as captains this winter.

The Lumberjacks fashioned a 14-11 regular-season record and split a pair of playoff games, eventually losing 5-2 to Brainerd in the Section 8-2A semifinals.

Earning letters for the BHS boys hockey team in 2011-12 were:

Seniors: Ben Schram, Easton Halbert, Ryan Erickson, Zach Rickers, Eric Hernesman, Jordan Heller, Dillon Eichstadt, Garret Lind, Kole Spencer, Tyler Tatro, James Bofferding, Bo Borowski, Brady Devescovi, John Forseth, Eli Burns;

Juniors: Logan Mistic, Sam Starkey, Sam Bruestle, Matt Serratore;

Sophomore: Brett Isensee;

Freshmen: Gabe Heifort, Mike Sauer.