Weather Forecast


Success at the Big Bear: Bemidji’s Brian Maas takes 113 crown; Kade Johnson captures 182-pound title

CASS LAKE — Brian Maas and Kade Johnson captured individual titles Saturday at the Big Bear wrestling tournament hosted by Blackduck-Cass Lake-Bena.

In the team championship the Lumberjacks placed fourth with 124.5 points. Hutchinson took the team title with 199 while Willmar was second with 170.5 and Blackduck-Cass Lake-Bena third with 132.5.

Fosston-Bagley finished 19th with 67.5.

Johnson dominated the 182-pound weight class as he won each of his five matches with pins, and he was extended into the second period in only one of his outings.

After winning three matches on Friday Johnson opened Saturday’s action with a pin over Vaughn Johnson of Willmar in the semifinals. On Saturday afternoon the Lumberjack capped his day with a pin over Gannon Jordahl of Hutchinson and he needed only 59 seconds to accomplish the feat.

Maas received an opening-round bye at 113 pounds and also won a pair of Friday matches with first-period falls. In Saturday’s semifinal he blitzed Jermiah Harper of New York Mills 8-0 and in the title match he stopped Dylan Pundsack of Hutchinson 4-1.

Bemidji’s Indi Farris was delegated to the consolation round in the 120-pound division after Friday’s results and his tournament came to an end Saturday when he fell 13-3 to Justin Gordan of Bertha-Hewitt.

The Lumberjacks did have place winners in four of the final six weight classes, however.

At 160 Gannon Strain finished sixth after going 2-1 on Saturday in the consolation bracket. In his first Saturday match Strain stopped Gunner Flynn of New York Mills 6-4 in overtime. He then downed Alex Trowbridge of Barnsville, also by a 6-4 score.

Strain’s tournament ended in the consolation semifinals when he fell 3-2 to Sam Manecke of Fosston-Bagley.

At 170 Nick Peterson lost his only consolation match on Saturday, dropping a 3-0 decision to Dylan Huttonen of United North Central.

Brody Wilander went 1-1 in Saturday’s consolation rounds at 195 and finished eighth. In his Saturday opener Wilander decisioned John French of Bertha-Hewitt 12-5. He did not fare as well in the fifth round of consolation, however, as Tanner Templin of BCLB stopped Wilander by a technical fall in 5:24.

At 220 Wyatt Yoemans placed sixth after winning two of three Saturday matches. Yoemans pinned Garrett Moran of Big Lake in 1:59 and then posted a 5-0 decision over Anthony Miller of West Central. In the consolation semifinals, however, Yoemans was pinned in 2:50 by Jake Filk of Hutchinson.

The host team experienced a great tournament as BCLB had eight placewinners, including Daven Staples who won the 170-pound championship.

Finishing second for the Bears was Andrew Nissen at 106 while Tanner Templin was fifth at 195 and Cooper Jedlicka sixth at 182.

Placing seventh were Ian Frenzel at 120 and Kyle Michalek at 132 while Lucas Reiplinger was eighth at 113 and Trevor Smith was eighth at 160.

Fosston-Bagley’s top performances were Sam Manecke’s fourth at 160, Luke Juve’s seventh at 220 and Ben Marx’ eighth at 138.

Big Bear Tournament

Hutchinson 199, Willmar 170.5, BCLB 132.5, Bemidji 124.5, Barnesville 119, Pequot Lakes 117, Detroit Lakes 113.5, BGMR 109.5, Bertha-Hewitt 105, Fergus Falls 104, Crookston 102, UNC 101, TRF 100, Hibbing 90, New York Mills 80.5,  MAHACA 74.5, West Central 73, Crosby 68, Fosston-Bagley 67.5, DGF 65.5, Staples 64, Big Lake 59, Aitkin 57, Park Rapids 56, Roseau 53, United Clay 51.5, Mahnomen 51, RLCC 29, Robbinsdale 22, WHAN 22, Deer River 15, Wadena-DC 9, West Marshall 2

Saturday’s Bemidji’s Results

113 - Brian Maas (Bem) dec. Harper (NYM) 8-0; Maas dec. Pundsack (Hutchinson) 4-1. Maas wins championship

120 - Gordan (Bertha) dec. Indi Farris 13-3.

160 - Gannon Strain (Bem) dec. Flynn (NYM) 6-4, OT; Strain dec. Trowbridge (Barnsville) 6-4; Manecke (Fosston-Bagley) dec. Strain 3-2; Miller (Pequot Lakes) dec. Strain 15-5. Strain places sixth

170 - Huttonen (UNC) dec. Nick Peterson 3-0

182 - Kade Johnson (Bem) pin V.Johnson (Willmar) 2:23; Johnson pin Jordahl (Hutch) 0:59. Johnson wins championship

195 - Brody Wilander (Bem) dec. French (Bertha) 12-5; Templin (BCLB) tech fall over Wilander 18-3 (5:24). Wilander placed eighth

220 - Yoemans (Bem) pin Moran (Big Lake) 1:59; Yoemans dec. Miller (West Central) 5-0; Filk (Hutch) pin Yoemans 2:50. Yoemans placed sixth

Pat Miller

Pat Miller is the sports editor at the Pioneer.

(218) 333-9200