Weather Forecast


Lapp named Lumberjack girls hockey team MVP

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Bemidji, 56619
Bemidji Minnesota P.O. Box 455 56619

The Bemidji girls hockey team put the finishing touches on the 2010-11 season Monday as the Lumberjacks held their annual season-ending banquet.


Monday's event honored the 15 letterwinners, a list that included six seniors.

BHS posted a 7-17-2 record and dropped its opening game in the Section 8AA playoffs, 8-2 to North Wright County.

The Lumberjacks outshot their opponents 739-593 this winter but were outscored 99-63.

Allie Lapp (15 goals, 13 assists, 28 points) was named the team's Most Valuable Player while Karlee Tower (2-3-5) was honored as the Most Improved.

Sharing the Lumberjack Award were Amanda Hunt (5-8-13) and Meg Phelps (0-4-4).

Janie Johnson (7-9-16) was named the team's Hobey Baker Award winner.

Casey Miller also was honored as an academic all-state student.

Chaniel Nelson, Lapp and Hunt were named to the Greater Minnesota All-Conference team while Johnson, Miller and Allie Heifort received honorable mention status.

Lapp's 28 points represented a team high while Nelson was second in scoring with nine goals and 21 points.

Also scoring in double figures were Johnson, Becca Gregg (6-8-14), Heifort (5-9-14) and Hunt.

Phelps began the year as a defenseman but was switched to goaltender late in the campaign. The senior went 1-4 in the net with a 5.75 goals against average and a .785 save percentage.

Heifort also played one game in goal and collected a victory.

Earning letters this year were:

SENIORS: Janie Johnson, Chaniel Nelson, Casey Miller, Megan Phelps, Becca Gregg, Amanda Hunt;

JUNIOR: Allie Lapp;

SOPHOMORES: Jasmin Yerbich, Karlee Tower, Allie Heifort, Erin Booth, Emily Boyer, Heather Bjerke, Karleigh Wolkerestorfer;

FRESHMAN: Hanna Olson.

Bemidji Pioneer (218) 333-9819 customer support

Pat Miller is the sports editor at the Pioneer.

(218) 333-9200