Weather Forecast


Error message

Views XML Backend: HTTP response: Service Unavailable. URI:,datePosted,advertisement,classification,slug,ID,title&start=0&rows=5000&sort=slug%20asc

Woman dies after being thrown from boat on Cass Lake

The Bemidji Middle School speech team competed in four invitationals this year. Submitted Photo

BMS students compete in speech invitationals

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
news Bemidji, 56619
Bemidji Pioneer
(218) 333-9819 customer support
Bemidji Minnesota P.O. Box 455 56619

Students from Bemidji Middle School competed in four speech invitationals this year.

On Feb. 5 at the Cass Lake-Bena Invitational, Eve Froehle, Shyanne Kaml, Kylie St. Peter and Levi Heath won gold medals in their categories.


Winning silver medals in their categories were Tanner Robare, Kacey Spiry, Brian Mason, Isaac Flaa, Emily Biberg, Kate Loxtercamp and Josie Spry.

Winning bronze medals in their categories were Kevin Sorensen, Lyla Evje, Chloe Lundberg and Erik Sorensen.

Winning ribbons in their categories were Zoe Davenport, Mataya Halvorson, Marisa Sorensen, Lainy Sewall, Anderson Carter, Haley Julin, Heather Bjerke, Colin Richards and Tessa Johnson.

On Feb. 12 at the Blackduck Invitational, Spiry, Flaa, Biberg, Mariah Siddiqui, Heath, Kaml and Evje took first place in their categories.

Taking second place in their categories were Richards, Spry and Loxtercamp.

Taking third place in their categories were Cassidy Morris, Robare, Meranda Wood, Erik Sorensen, Peri Lapp and Froehle.

On March 5 at the Park Rapids Invitational, Paul Enger, Flaa, Biberg, Spiry, Froehle, Richards, Jessica Pickett and Evje took first place in their categories.

Taking second place in their categories were Kevin Sorensen, Lundberg, Erik Sorensen, Heath, Siddiqui and Spry.

Taking third place in their categories were Morris, Robare, Ashely Houle, Davenport, Halvorson, Mason, Loxtercamp and Johnson.

Taking fourth place in their categories were Andrew Pilimai, Julin and Kaml.

On March 19 at the Walker Invitational, blue ribbons were awarded to Paul Enger, Robare, Biberg, Flaa, Davenport, Halvorson, Spiry, Froehle, Lundberg, Heath, Erik Sorensen, Richards, Siddiqui, Pickett, Kaml, Evje, Megan Jones and Spry.

Also, nine BMS students received Heartland Conference Triad Awards at the Walker Invitational. These awards are given to students having the best nine rounds in each category throughout the season.

Students winning the triad awards were Paul Enger in discussion, Biberg and Flaa in duo, Spiry in extemporaneous reading, Froehle in great speeches, Heath in humor, Richards in informative, Pickett in original oratory and Kaml in prose.

Pioneer staff reports