Weather Forecast


Authorities identify man who died in fiery crash on Interstate 29 south of Grand Forks

Bemidji Speedway: Stearns wins Wissota A Modified special

Jason Grimes (No. 99) of Jamestown claimed the “Hard Charger Award” Sunday at Bemidji Speedway as the Wissota A Modified Tour made a stop at the track. Dennis Peterson | Special to the Pioneer

Dennis Peterson

Special to the Pioneer

BEMIDJI -- The Wissota A Modified special is touring 18 cities in the Midwest and Sunday it made a stop at Bemidji Speedway.

Mike Stearns, from Heda, S.D., won the feature and its $1,500 first-place purse.

Sunday night’s card also featured the final night of the Bemidji Pure Stock Challenge for the Bemidji Minis and Wissota Midwest Modifieds. Josh Berg was the overall winner and he earned a $500 bonus.

Just one race remains for the season points championships in each class with many classes still up for grabs. The track championships will be run next Sunday with champions determined in each of the five classes. The final races of the year will be Sept. 27-28 when the 35th annual Paul Bunyan Stampede will take over the track. Wissota A Modifieds, Midwest Modifieds, Super Stocks, Mod Fours, Pure Stocks and Minis will all be running in the finale to the racing season in Bemidji.

Mini Stocks

A three-wide race ensued among Joe Doti, Josh Berg and Jenny Watrud with Watrud powering into the lead. Watrud cruised to the victory, another clean sweep, with Berg, Doti and Nicole Feda trailing across the finish line.

Wissota Midwest Modifieds

Trent Drydahl took the early lead in the 16-car race and Gary James Nelson, Skyler Smith, Lon Vettleson and Travis Sauer made up the top five after one lap. The first caution of the race waved for spins in turn two and three and Dyrdahl maintained his lead following the restart. A couple of additional spins slowed the action but when racing resumed Dyrdahl kept his lead and eventually claimed his first ever clean sweep. Nelson was second and was followed by Sauer, Bret Schmidt and Tim Jackson.

Wissota A Modified Feature:

The Wissota Advantage RV’s Modified tour race rolled on track for its 40-lap feature led by Mike Stearns and Bobby Broking. The first caution of the race was waved in turn two when local driver John Schulke lost grip and spun. He was sent tailback for the restart.

The race was slowed by three more cautions and on the final restart Mike Stearns created some distance from the field working through lapped traffic. Stearns held on for the win with Dave Cain, Jason Grimes, Rick Jacobson and Matt Gilbertson in the top five.

Pure Stock Challenge

As a light drizzle began to fall the final race of the Bemidji Pure Stock Challenge was led on track by current point leader Josh Berg on the pole who quickly built a comfortable lead. The race was fast and Berg quickly lapped slower traffic. Berg completed his flag-to-flag victory and claimed the overall Pure Stock Challenge Championship. Harley Kroening finished second with Al Sadek Sr., Kevin Baumgarner and Al Sadek Jr. in the top five.

Speedway Results

Mini Stock Feature – Jenny Watrud, Josh Berg, Joe Doti, Nicole Feda

Heat – J. Watrud, J. Doti, N. Feda, J. Berg

Wissota Midwest Modified Feature – Trent Dyrdahl, Gary James Nelson, Travis Sauer, Bret Schmidt, Tim Jackson, John Halvorson, Lon Vettleson, Weston Ramsrud, Ron Reed, Justin Olson, Jerad Lene, Brandon Bahr, Matt Fullerton, Rick Jacobson, Skyler Smith, Tyler McClellan

Heat 1 – B. Bahr, B. Schmidt, J. Halvorson, R. Reed, M. Fullerton

Heat 2 – S. Smith, T. Sauer, G. J. Nelson, J. Lene, W. Ramsrud

Heat 3 – T. Dyrdahl, T. Jackson, L. Vettleson, R. Jacobson, J. Jones

Wissota A Modified Feature – Mike Stearns, Dave Cain, Jason Grimes, Rick Jacobson, Matt Gilbertson, Travis Sauer, Davey Mills, Johnny Broking, Josh Beaulieu, Jayson Good, Don Platow, John Schulke, Adam Johnson, Bob Broking

Heat 1 – J. Schulke, J. Broking, A.Johnson, R. Jacobson, D. Mills

Heat 2 – T. Sauer, M. Stearns, D. Cain, B. Broking, J. Beaulieu

Pure Stock Feature – Josh Berg, Harley Kroening, Al Sadek Sr., Kevin Baumgarner, Al Sadek Jr., Austin Carlson, Tyler Kroening, Gary Nelson Sr., Travis Olafson, Margo Butcher,

Heat 1 – A. Sadek Jr., H. Kroening, A. Carlson, A. Sadek Jr., T. Kroening

Heat 2 – J. Berg, M. Butcher, K. Baumgarner, C. Tabaka, G. Nelson Sr.