Weather Forecast


Bemidji Speedway: Berg wins Pure Stock Challenge race

Bret Schmidt (No. 32), Tim Jackson and Ron Reed (No. 65) raced nose-to-nose during Sunday’s Midwest Modified feature race at Bemidji Speedway. Dennis Peterson | Special to the Pioneer

Dennis Peterson

Special to the Pioneer

BEMIDJI — Track conditions were excellent Sunday night at the Bemidji Speedway and the racing kept fans on the edge of their seats. The third race of the Pure Stock Challenge was held with Josh Berg putting himself in contention for the overall title with the win. The fourth and final race of the series will be held on Aug. 17 along with the A-Modifieds as track officials will hold the RV Advantage Tour race.

Next Sunday the “Race of Champions” qualifier will be held with the Midwest Modifieds, Super Stocks and Mod Fours all competing for the right to represent Bemidji Speedway at the Race of Champions later in the fall at the Wissota 100 in South Dakota. The always popular “kids box car” races will be held next week. Kids of all ages should create their replica race car out of a cardboard box and bring it to the track next week for an opportunity to race on the dirt track front straight.

Mini Stocks

After the initial lap Mike Hart had the lead and a tangle between Ev Barrett and Jenny Watrud coming out of turn four brought out the caution flag. Watrud was sent tailback but within two laps Watrud was back in fifth where she finished as Hart took the checkered flag for his second win at Bemidji Speedway this summer.

Mod Four

The first lap was very tightly contested by several cars with Dean Larson finally taking the lead racing into lap two. Conrad Schwinn, however, raced inside down the back straight, took the lead and quickly pulled out to a three-car length advantage. Fran Hauber raced forward and challenged Larson for second and after some contact in turn two made the pass. Schwinn cruised to his first feature win of the summer and was followed by Hauber, Jerry Esler, Larson and Scott Dyrdahl.

Super Stocks

Following a heat crash that sent three Super Stocks to the pits for major repairs, all made it back for the feature. Kyle Oman and Matt Sparby raced side-by-side before Sparby slid high in turn two giving Oman the lead. Following a caution in turn three, Oman pulled out to a five-car length lead and Dalton Carlson raced low and took the second spot. But the race leader Oman was too far in front and claimed his first feature of the year.

Midwest Modifieds

Gary James Nelson took the early lead and owned a huge lead over the field until the first caution flag waved. Later, a three-car crash in turn three involving Trent Dyrdahl, Ron Reed and John Halvorson slowed the action but later Halvorson slid high in turn three to the fourth spot and Tim Jackson reclaimed the third place. Nelson took the checkered flag, his second of the summer with Brandon Bahr, Jackson, Halvorson and Matt Fullerton in the top five.

Pure Stock Challenge

Josh Berg grabbed the lead but the top three cars were running bumper to bumper when a caution in turn four slowed the action. On the restart Kevin Baumgarner raced low and into second. Berg went on to win the feature and put himself into contention for the overall challenge win on Aug. 17th along with Margo Butcher, Al Sadek Jr. and Baumgarner. Finishing second was Baumgarner, Austin Carlson was third with Butcher and Chad Puschinsky in the top five.

Speedway Results

Mini Stock Feature – Mike Hart, Corey Pourrier, Ev Barrett, Joe Doti, Jenny Watrud, Mitch Uselman, Sue Berg, Nicole Feda

Heat – M. Hart, C. Pourrier, J. Watrud, E. Barrett, J. Doti

Wissota Mod Four Feature – Conrad Schwinn, Fran Hauber, Jerry Esler, Dean Larson, Scott Dyrdahl, Josh Seeleye, Mike Margl, Tonja Stranger

Heat – D. Larson, C. Schwinn, J. Esler, S. Dyrdahl, F. Hauber

Wissota Super Stock Feature – Kyle Oman, Dalton Carlson, Nathan Higginbotham, Gary James Nelson, Matt Sparby, Blake Higginbotham, Keith Keena

Heat – M. Sparby, N. Higginbotham, K. Oman, G.J. Nelson, D. Carlson

Wissota Midwest Modified Feature – Gary James Nelson, Brandon Bahr, Tim Jackson, John Halvorson, Matt Fullerton, Weston Ramsrud, Jerad Lene, Alex Johnson, Trent Dyrdahl, Ron Reed, Don Platow, Bret Schmidt, Lon Vettleson

Heat 1 – L. Vettleson, B. Bahr, R. Reed, T. Jackson, W. Ramsrud

Heat 2 – M. Fullerton, J. Lene, G.J. Nelson, B. Schmidt, T. Dyrdahl

Pure Stock Feature – Josh Berg, Kevin Baumgarner, Austin Carlson, Margo Butcher, Chad Puschinsky, Chad Tabaka, Al Sadek Jr., Sterling Knaeble, Jesse Grife, Harley Kroening, Tyler Kroening, Brian Feda

Heat 1 – J. Berg, C. Puschinsky, K. Baumgarner, M. Butcher, J. Grife

Heat 2 – C. Tabaka, A. Carlson, H. Kroening, T. Kroening, B. Feda