Weather Forecast


Baseball: Bemidji VFW set to start district tourney

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Bemidji,Minnesota 56619
Bemidji Pioneer
Baseball: Bemidji VFW set to start district tourney
Bemidji Minnesota P.O. Box 455 56619

The Bemidji VFW opens District 9 tournament play today at Detroit Lakes, facing Moorhead or Detroit Lakes at 10:30 at Washington Park.


Perham will play the 1:30 game against Fergus Falls or East Grand Forks.

Moorhead faced DL and Fergus battled EGF in Thursday's openers.

Friday will be a full day with the Moorhead-DL loser meeting then 1:30 loser at 4:30 and the Fergus-EGF loser going against the 10:30 loser at 7:30.

That will reduce the field to four.

The winners bracket final is set Saturday at 1;30 with the losers of the two late Friday games clashing in a loser-out game at 4:30.

That winner comes back at 7:30 to face the 1:30 game loser for the second berth in the final.

That game is Sunday at 1:30 with a second game, if needed, to follow at 4:30.

The champion will advance to the state meet the next week.

Fergus Falls is defending champion besting Bemidji in the 2007 final and Perham last years.  Those were the third and fourth titles for Fergus.

Bemidji has won 14 including nine straight from 1992-2000.

Since then, however, it has won only in 2005, bowing in the title game in 2004 and 2007.

Bemidji is the top seed after winning the regular season title with a 16-4 record, taking its last 10 starts.

It went 4-0 against Detroit Lakes with no game closer than five runs.

It ended 3-1 with Moorhead but 2-0 on the field, The other two games were rained out in progress with each team given a win under the archaic VFW rules.

Righthander Matt Schneider (4-1) will get today's starting call with Ryan Stevens (3-1) and Kevin Murphy (3-1) the likely starters in Games 2 and 3.

The team ,has stepped up its attack in recent games scoring 10 or more runs in six of its past seven starts.

It also has vastly improved on defense with some particularly strong infield play.

Collin Leif will be behind the plate with Mason Bellew, Jake Urban, Mitch Hendricks and Booster Russ or Ernie Heifort around the infield and Kris Berndt, Murphy and Cole Bardwell in the outfield.

Trey Johnson, Schneider. Stevens, Chase Vogt Zach Solheim and Alex Lucas provide solid depth.

Bemidji takes a 19-9 overall mark to the tournament.



1980 Bemidji (only team)

1981 Bemidji12, Fergus Falls 2

1982 Fergus Falls 6, Bemidji 3

1983 E. Grd Forks 13, Fergus Falls 1

1984 Bemidji 7, Fergus Falls 4

1985 Bemidji 2, Fergus Falls 0

1986 Fergus Falls 9, Moorhead 9

1987 Moorhead 14, Thief River Falls 4

1988 Bemidji 2, Fergus Falls 1

1989 Bemidji 5, Moorhead 2

1990 Moorhead 7, Fergus Falls 3

1991 Moorhead 6, Bemidji 2

1992 Bemidji 4, Moorhead 2

1993 Bemidji 10, Thief River Falls 1

1994 Bemidji 8, Moorhead 4

1995 Bemidji 8, Perham 5

1996 Bemidji 18, Thief River Falls 3

1997 Bemidji 15, Crookston 3

1998 Bemis 12, Moorhead 7

1999 Bemidji 14, Perham 7

2000 Bemidji 12, Fergus Falls 11

2001 Fergus Falls 12, Perham 3

2002 Moorhead 2, Fergus Falls 1

2003 Moorhead 9, Perham 1

2004 Moorhead 15, Bemidji 4

2005 Bemidji 7, Moorhead 4

2006 Thief River Falls 1, Moorhead 0

2007 Fergus Falls 9, Bemidji 5

2008 Fergus Falls 7, Perham 1

Pioneer staff reports